Image

Online Relational Cultural Therapy for Perinatal Populations. 

Relational-cultural therapy is a powerful experiential modality that is especially useful for perinatal clients because it offers a way to explore many of the concerns clients bring to sessions: feelings of disconnection, fears about attachment and attunement, relational confusion, loneliness, and the cultural roles and expectations of parents.

This approach to therapy views isolation, shame, humiliation, oppression, marginalization, and microaggressions as relational violations and traumas that cause suffering. Relational-cultural therapy suggests that healing and reducing suffering happens through connection, so a primary aim is to help clients feel less alone.

Therapy becomes a place for clients to experience and experiment with relational efficacy, which can then improve other relationships in the client’s life including children, romantic partners, family, friends, and community, as well as their relationship with themselves.

Course Outline 

We think that relational-cultural therapy is a powerful experiential modality that is especially useful for perinatal clients because it offers a way to explore many of the concerns clients bring to sessions: feelings of disconnection, fears about attachment and attunement, relational confusion, loneliness, and the cultural roles and expectations of parents.

Topics examined in this training include: 

✔️ The principles of growth fostering relationships and relational efficacy

✔️ Building the therapeutic skills of emotional presence, authenticity, and attunement

✔️ Naming and working with the connections and disconnections that are felt in relationships

✔️ Supporting clients through the processing of relational violations and traumas

✔️ Identifying the links between parenting relational expectations and mood 

When: 8 weeks, starting October 11th 
9:00-1:00 PT / 10:00-2:00 MT / 11:00-3:00 CT / 12:00-4:00 ET / 1:00-5:00 AT

FULL PROGRAM DATES
  • Friday, October 11th 
  • Friday, October 18th 
  • Friday, October 25th 
  • Friday, November 1st 
  • Friday, November 8th 
  • Friday, November 15th 
  • Friday, November 22nd 
  • Friday, November 29th 
Image

 *Please note that this course has a maximum of 12 people. Because of the small size, we don't apply any discounts on the cost of this course. A waitlist will be available when this cohort is full. 

Want to learn more about Relational Cultural Theory? Watch this video: 

Canadian Perinatal Mental Health Training CPMHT Logo with name in white font 1500x398px

We offer professional development for perinatal mental health professionals. Our trainings are inter-professional; we welcome social workers, psychotherapists, clinical psychologists, midwives, nurses, naturopaths, OB’s, psychiatrists, pelvic floor physiotherapists, family doctors, community organizers, pediatricians, coaches, or sleep consultants.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.